Event Calendar

Russian Winter Festival II: Shostakovich and Rachmaninoff

Rossen Milanov, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin 

SHOSTAKOVICH: Concerto in A minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 77 (99)
RACHMANINOFF: Symphony No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 27

In Russian Winter Festival II, Grammy Award-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich takes on the edgy realism of Shostakovich, which is juxtaposed against the romantic world of Rachmaninoff’s Second Symphony.

Read the Dispatch review from Friday night here.

Prelude: Subject Matter: Russia in War and Revolution: The Worlds of Rachamaninoff and Shostakovich. Dr. Nicholas Breyfogle, OSU Department of History.
Postlude: Shostakovich String Quartet performance by Columbus Symphony Musicians.


The Russian Winter Festival II: Shostakovich and Rachmaninoff will offer $10 general admission tickets to the Friday morning dress rehearsal. Experience a working rehearsal with repertoire selected by Rossen. Coffee and snacks are included in the ticket price!